

## NEW JERSEY COLLEGE HEALTH ASSOCIATION

General Meeting Seton Hall University South Orange, NJ

May 10, 2022

## **Meeting Minutes**

\_\_\_\_\_

## **In-Person Attendees:**

Susan MacArthur, Scott Woodside, Susan Graziano, Kathleen Dolan, Sharon Virkler, Kristin Donadio, Janice Vermeychuk, Cindy Striano, Holly Heller, Casey Keegan, Alyssa Lugu, Joe Henson, Diane Lynch, Kyle Weisholtz, Joan Galbraith, Patricia Ruiz, Carol Brown Taylor, Abby Beutel, Barbara Ackerson, Carola Gramlich, Anna Stacey, Debra Lukacsko, Jennifer Marion

## **Virtual Attendees:**

Marta Diaz-Pupek, Teresa Sacca, Cindy Perillo, Kristine Sparks, Susan Lasker, Jennifer Piskadlo, Ann Grasso, Nicole Szilvasi, Shannon Nolan, Carolyn Smith, Robin Mansfield, Colleen Mulligan-Moran, Nichole Jenisch, Carolyn Lewis, Michele Albrecht, Charmaine Cirino Thomas, Alice Colalillo, Elizabeth Luciano, Genique Stanislaus, Theresa Lord-Stout, Melissa Shockey, Taylor Williams

### I. Call to Order:

The business meeting was called to order at 1pm by President Scott Woodside. Motion so moved and seconded by Joan Galbraith and Diane Lynch.

- II. Presentation of Awards: Scott Woodside
  - A. Ruth Reagan Hutchison College Health Excellence Award—given to a college health professional who has made an exceptional impact on college health. **Recipient: Debra Lukacsko** (Ramapo University)
  - B. Mary-Kate Heffern Honorary Scholarship—honors a nurse working in college health for his/her dedication and perseverance toward the advancement of college health nursing. **Recipient: Heather MacDonald** (Drew University)
  - C. "Collaboration is Key" Award–presented to a non-college health professional who has fostered the development and/or enhancement of the field of college health. **Recipient: Kaitlin Kurdyla** (Montclair State University)

# III. Report of Officers:

A. President (Scott Woodside, Rowan University): As outgoing president, Scott gave his appreciation to the membership for extending his term of office for an additional two years. He applauded everyone and their efforts during the covid pandemic. Plans for after his presidency include: writing a staffing and salary white paper; starting a subgroup of NJCHA for Directors; and continuing to advocate for different policies and legislative matters impacting college health.

- B. Vice-President (Joe Henson, Seton Hall University): New business included a plan to return to the pre-pandemic schedule of three general meetings during the academic year. For the upcoming 2022-2023 year, hosting locations are as follows: October 2022–Stevens Institute of Technology; January 2023–virtual meeting; May 2023–Monmouth University. Specific dates and content TBD. Send any ideas for speakers and topics to Joe. The October meeting will most likely feature PrEP as a topic with support from Gilead reps. Reminder that participation in NJCHA is not limited to clinical staff–other support and ancillary staff are welcome.
- C. Treasurer (Barbara Ackerson, Montclair State University): Financial summary: the balance at the end of last year was \$9,990.05. The current balance after assets and expenses is \$8,195.51.
  NJCHA membership: There are currently 66 active members; 21 Institutional members; and 8 Emeritus members.
- D. Corresponding Secretary (Kyle Weisholtz, Stevens Institute): no report.
- E. Recording Secretary (Joan Galbraith, Drew University): There were no minutes taken during the last general meeting on December 16, 2021. Meetings from this meeting will be sent to membership for review once complete. Virtual attendees were asked to email Joan with their names for the purposes of record keeping.

## IV. Elections (Janice Vermeychuk, TCNJ):

- A. Emeriti members: The following members were selected by the Executive Board for emeritus status, and approved by the general membership vote: Robin Mansfield; Patricia Prior; Debra Lucasko; Maggie Cumming.
- B. Executive Board Election results for the 2022-2024 term are as follows:

President: Kyle Weisholtz (Stevens Institute of Technology)

Vice President: Joseph Henson (Seton Hall University)

Treasurer: Kathleen Dolan (Rowan University)

Recording Secretary: Joan Galbraith (Drew University)

Corresponding Secretary: Holly Heller (TCNJ)

Kyle Weisholtz presented Scott Woodside with an award as outgoing president after serving in this role for five years. Scott was acknowledged for his efforts in keeping the organization going during covid. Janice Vermeychuk presented Barbara Ackerson (outgoing Treasurer) with a gift thanking her for her ten years of service on the NJCHA Executive Board. Barbara served multiple terms as Vice President and Treasurer.

#### V. Adjournment

The business meeting was adjourned at 1:30pm. Motion to adjourn was so moved and seconded by Sue Graziano and Janice Vermeychuk.

Respectfully submitted, Joan Galbraith